The Greatest Love (Week 2 Sermon)

Greatest Love LogoWeek 2 was all about Experiencing the Love of God.  God’s love is available for all of us.  It is our choice to root ourselves and experience God’s love.

Click Here to watch the Video

 

Here are my Sermon Notes to follow along…

Last week we talked about the One Event that Changed the Course of Mankind…

Jesus

And the One Word that motivated the event…  Love

A Reminder:  No matter how broken, hurt, rebellious, or sinful we are … 

God Loves You!  

–When we root ourselves in God’s love then we have strength to handle anything

–When we Experience God’s love then we find power and life to the fullest

The main question we should ask is … “How can I experience God’s love?”

***Let’s Get this very Clear and Don’t Get this question confused with … ***

“How do I receive God’s love” or “How do I get God to Love me?”

The Question is not…“Does God Love Me?

The Question is…“How can I root myself in and Fully Experience God’s Love?”

While Jesus was walking this earth He was tested and asked many questions

I want to look at one of the answers he gave to a very important question

Matthew 22 : 35  One of them, an expert in religious law, tried to trap him with this question: 36  “Teacher, which is the most important commandment in the law of Moses?”  37  Jesus replied, “‘You must love the lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ 38  This is the first and greatest commandment. 39  A second is equally important:  ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ 40  The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.”

Jesus gives us the answer right here when He says Love God and Love Others

Every other law, rule and commandment comes natural when we do this

Look at the 10 original commandments that were given to Moses…

Exodus 20 : 3  “You must not have any other god but me.  4  “You must not make for yourself an idol of any kind or an image of anything in the heavens or on the earth or in the sea. 5  You must not bow down to them or worship them, for I, the lord your God, am a jealous God who will not tolerate your affection for any other gods.  I lay the sins of the parents upon their children; the entire family is affected—even children in the third and fourth generations of those who reject me. 6  But I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those who love me and obey my commands. 7  “You must not misuse the name of the lord your God.  The lord will not let you go unpunished if you misuse his name. 8  “Remember to observe the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. 9  You have six days each week for your ordinary work, 10  but the seventh day is a Sabbath day of rest dedicated to the lord your God.  On that day no one in your household may do any work.  This includes you, your sons and daughters, your male and female servants, your livestock, and any foreigners living among you. 11  For in six days the lord made the heavens, the earth, the sea, and everything in them; but on the seventh day he rested.  That is why the lord blessed the Sabbath day and set it apart as holy. 12  “Honor your father and mother.  Then you will live a long, full life in the land the lord your God is giving you. 13  “You must not murder. 14  “You must not commit adultery. 15  “You must not steal. 16  “You must not testify falsely against your neighbor. 17  “You must not covet your neighbor’s house.  You must not covet your neighbor’s wife, male or female servant, ox or donkey, or anything else that belongs to your neighbor.

10 Original Commandments were given:

1-4 = Loving God

5-10 = Loving Other People

To Fully Experience God’s Love then we are to Love God and Love Others

AND Follow all of God’s Commandments.

Look again at verse 6

6  But I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those who love me and obey my commands.

If we don’t Follow God’s Commandments will He stop loving us???

Another Reminder:  While were are broken, hurt, rebellious and sinful …

God Loves You!

This is not about Gaining God’s Love … This is about Experiencing God’s Love

If we want to know His Power, Strength, Completion and Life to the Fullest 

Then we are to live a life that keeps us on the Path and Purpose He has for us!

If you are anything like me then when you hear the words “Obey” and “Follow the Rules” you immediately start hearing the little devil on the other shoulder

All humans are rebellious by nature … Some of us a little more than others!

Obedience training is for Dogs!   I’m not meant to Sit, Stay and Heal

I am an individual with my own thoughts and will.  

I want to explore, learn and be free!

If you say I can’t … I’ll die trying to show you that I can!

This was my struggle with Christianity for a very long time!

Too many Christians have bought into a Theology of being Redeemed by Works

This way of thinking is very Dangerous!

Nothing we do will ever make us good enough to earn our salvation

–We are NOT Redeemed because of our Good works and Following Commandments

We are Redeemed and Forgiven because of how much God loves us

–Salvation comes from accepting God’s gift of Forgiveness through Jesus

–Our Good works and Following Commandments are a result of understanding God’s love

Once I understood how much God loves me and how that can impact my life

My natural response was not rebellion … It was to grow closer to Him

This is an invitation to a Relationship … Not a controlling Dictatorship 

We begin to experience the Love God when we stay faithful to Him…

John 15 : 1  “I am the true grapevine, and my Father is the gardener. 2  He cuts off every branch of mine that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more. 3  You have already been pruned and purified by the message I have given you. 4  Remain in me, and I will remain in you.  For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me. 5  “Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches.  Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit.  For apart from me you can do nothing. 6  Anyone who does not remain in me is thrown away like a useless branch and withers.  Such branches are gathered into a pile to be burned. 7  But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted!  8  When you produce much fruit, you are my true disciples. This brings great glory to my Father. 9  “I have loved you even as the Father has loved me.  Remain in my love. 10  When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, just as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. 11  I have told you these things so that you will be filled with my joy.  Yes, your joy will overflow! 12  This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. 13  There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14  You are my friends if you do what I command.

The Question is…“How can I root myself in and Fully Experience God’s Love?”

The Answer … Love God, Love Others, and Stay faithful to God’s Will in your life

When we live our lives Connected to God then He will do amazing things through us … He will bring the growth and the blessings.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

