“CelebReligion” (Week 3 Sermon)

ellen_degeneres_dealnodeal

Who doesn’t love Ellen?  She is one of the funniest people on TV today and she just won the People’s Choice award for Best Daytime Talk Show!  I have loved Ellen’s comedy since she debuted with her television specials.  Unfortunately, because of her lifestyle choice many right wing, conservative church leaders have used her as a target to fire their viscous comments and attacks on Homosexuality.  I believe homosexuality is a sin based on what I read in Scripture.  (I realize that many in our world do not agree with me.)  BUT…I also believe that due to homophobia, ignorance, and arrogance the right wing conservative types have decided that it is worse than any other sin?  More importantly, I do not believe that God hates homosexuals…he hates Sin.  He hates sin so much that he sent His son Jesus to be the ultimate sacrifice!  He did that for all sinners, including homosexuals.  According to This Verse all of us have sinned and fallen short of God’s glorious standard.  Truth:  We are all sinners in need of a Savior. 

Click HERE to listen to “The Gospel According to Ellen”

All sermons from the “CelebReligion” series available HERE

***Feel free to be very honest in your comments…I can take it.  (Please listen to the entire sermon to hear my full take on the subject before you choose to comment negatively)  I would love to hear your feedback/opinions on this topic and begin a cordial discussion.***

  1. EXACTLY! I have had that conversation with my husband so many times. I have dear friends and family members who are homosexuals. I love them. They do not need me focusing on that. They need me focusing on their need for Christ and I am to show that love to them, like I am to every other person around…whether they are converted or not. . .and let Christ do the amazing work that He does in the hearts of sinners like myself. Preach it brother.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

