I’m not making New Year’s Resolutions!

resolutionEvery year I attempt to make resolutions, and every year I successfully break them!  I have decided to keep my list simple this year and call them “Lifestyle Changes” instead.  Just three and no more.  I believe these three will have a major impact on all the other little resolutions I could make…and break.

1.  I will consistently begin my day with God.  I start early every morning with my Bible open, but I am too often distracted by sermon prep or other church things.  My goal is to start my mornings w/ God and devote that time to Him.  To accomplish this I am using this Reading Plan to keep me on track.

2.  I want to work out on a more routine basis.  I am going to set my workouts and accomplish them every week.  I also want to eat in a more controlled manner.  This will help feed my body for exercise.   I have a goal of completing my 2nd Triathlon in July and that should keep me on track.  I also just went and joined The Rush today!

3.  I want to control my responses and words to others.  This will be difficult for me.  I am not a mean person, but I do speak my mind and I speak it too quickly at times.  I am beginning my days by praying for God to give me wisdom before I speak.  This applies to everyone in my life.  This is going to be the interesting one for me.

Resolutions are worthless without action.  I have decided on these 3 and am putting my plans into action.  We shall see how long they last.  I think I am actually typing this blog to help me remember in February? Happy New Year.

  1. Proverbs 13:12
    Good stuff, helps remind me that action is the road to assured faith

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

