Continuing to Unpack (Catalyst 08)

A Golf tournament and frustrating sermon prep have helped me to continue the break down process from the Catalyst Conference.  I played in a captain’s choice tourney this morning with 3 guys that I thought would carry our team to victory.  Each one of them is above average as a golfer and as a team we should have finished with a ton of Birdies, BUT we didn’t!  My evaluation of what happened: our focus was not on winning!  We laughed, joked and had a great time, but at the end of the day we were only 2 under…that is pathetic.  I did not finish my sermon until just little bit ago.  I am usually finished by Tuesday!  In the rush and frustration of not being done, little things about our service started piling up and I got mad!  I mean I was really pissed off?  I typically just handle things and strive under pressure, but tonight I found myself in a different state of mind.  My evaluation: some of the team lost focus and as the leader I chose to dump my frustration with myself onto their situation.  

The unpack is this, it is not enough to just have the right people on your team.  The value is added when the people have the focus and drive to accomplish the vision!  Also, as the leader it is vital for me to constantly be on top of my responsibilities in order to keep others motivated and focused on the vision.  I cannot lead others effectively in their role when I am playing catch up on mine!  Catalyst filled my head and my heart with info and zeal, today God used golf and lack of prep to begin showing me how it plays out?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

