IIWTP Part 4…”Sticktoitiveness”

If I were the pastor…I would not let my vision slip for any reason.  This is a tough one!  I have already been tested on this issue in the adventure of planting Awestruck.  We have not officially begun our weekly service, and I have already considered altering the vision God has infused into my heart.  When we could not find a meeting space, I was willing to move into a new part of the city.  When we were not obtaining the funds we needed, I was willing to change our methods.  When we were not getting any response from people, I was willing to alter who we are and what we were planning.  I believe this is the constant internal struggle of every pastor.  Sticking to the plans and vision that God has called us to, in spite of other people’s opinions.  Going forward with nothing to hold onto other than the faith that you are doing what is right.  Making decisions when they don’t make practical sense.  The “sticktoitiveness” (I think I just made that word up?) of the pastor to follow wherever God leads is what makes or breaks a church.

Now that I am the pastor, I will make every effort to live out the promises and plans that God has prepared for me and the church.  This will be my greatest challenge!  I am thankful for the team around me that is sold out to the vision of Awestruck.  My prayer is that God will continue to surround me with folks that hold me accountable to this.  My adventure of planting a church has been unique from the beginning.  There are similarities among all church plants, but there are so many aspects of my journey that are individual to me alone.  That is the way God intended it, and I don’t foresee that changing in the future.  I will be challenged and questioned along the way, but I pray for the “sticktoitiveness” to hold on tight to the vision God has planted so deeply into my heart!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

