Did I just Read what I thought I Read?

Last night I took my wife on a date.  It was the first time in a while that we went off with no kids to a place where it seemed no kids were allowed!  It was so incredible.  So much more romantic than McDonalds and Chuck E. Cheese.  Well, Chuck E. Cheese does have live music, and that is sort of romantic?  Anyway, on or trip to and from the restaurant I began reading the signs in front of churches.  What are these people thinking?!?!  I never pay much attention to these signs, but last night I slowed down in front of each one.  (We live in NC, there are a ton of churches!)  I was baffled and slightly angered by the nonsense that people had put on these things.  Do churches really think that a great way to bring new people to their service is to place useless statements out front?  I ask again, what are these people thinking?!?!  Some made no sense and others were just down right ignorant.  One church had “Let him without sin cast the first stone” on their sign.  Is this how they expect to show the love of Jesus to an unchurched, unconvinced world?  I threatened to my wife to go visit Sunday and just sit on the front row with a big rock.  Just sit there and stare psycopathically at the preacher while he delivers the sermon?  🙂  I will not even get started on the super cheesy sayings that we read.  We laughed quite a bit on our car ride, but the more I think about it the more disturbing it is to me.  No wonder my generation is the most unchurched in American history.  Signs like that could scare them away before they pull in the parking lot!

What is the wackiest saying you have ever read on a Church Sign?  

I would love to hear them in my comments.

    • jbunch
    • August 11th, 2008

    “Don’t be afraid to go out on a limb; that is where the fruit is.”

    I am not going to lie – I actually thought it was pretty cool at the time.

    But the worst is:
    “The daily vitamin for a Christian is B1.”

  1. There are some statements that have impressed me. I like the “go out on a limb” line, that is clever. Thanks for being brave enough to go first.

  2. A church on Battleground/220 that I will refer to as the “God Can” church had an interesting sign up a couple of weeks ago that REALLY offended me.
    “If your religion cannot take you to church then how do you expect it to take you to heaven?”

  3. Interesting indeed! I don’t know that religion has ever gotten anybody anywhere. Thanks for posting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

