If I were the Pastor…

If my values and priorities are going change as my identity in Christ becomes clearer, (read “Every Dead End brings us Closer”) then it must involve both thinking and action steps.  I have never been a pastor.  I have spent the last 10 years of my life in full time ministry working under pastors.  I have pastored my own ministries within a church, but never been the main man at the helm of the ship.  Because that is what God has now called me to do, I have been doing a great deal of thinking and reflecting on what that means for me.  What do I value and what will I prioritize in my role as Lead Pastor of Awestruck?

More times than I can count over the last years I have made statements that began with, “If I were the pastor”.  Some ended with sentiments of mimicking a behavior that I had seen in someone, and others ended by stating the mistakes that I plan to never recreate.  Now is the time for me to live out all those ideas.  Ready or not, I am living in the stage of, “Now that I am the Pastor”, and gone are the days of evaluating from the sidelines.  Over the next few days I am going to post several things that I hope to hold most valuable in my role as pastor.  It is my plan, my wish list of sorts.  Some will take years to fully attain, others will be a constant daily effort, but I believe each one is vitally important.  You could call this my online accountability.  If I post it then I will be questioned on it, and that is exactly what I am hoping for.

  1. August 6th, 2008
  2. August 8th, 2008
  3. August 8th, 2008
  4. August 11th, 2008
  5. August 12th, 2008

Leave a Reply

