Fish and Chip (CWR)

I just finished mowing the yard and I could not stop thinking about everything that happened at CWR last week.  Not only did God move in crazy ways, the campers and staff did some crazy things.  Every day I chose a “Camper of the Day” which was given to the person that bribed me the most.  I kept telling them every day that the only person that won was me, but they had a blast trying win the title.  There were some pretty creative gifts and acts of love.  People giving their dessert at lunch, including the greatest dessert in camp history, “Cookie Mush”!  Campers cleaning off our table and taking our trash.  They even refilled our tea.  I got a ton of pictures colored by campers.  Adyson got her toenails painted by one cabin of girls.  Micah and I ended up with matching blue toenails that day as well.  Campers were giving Micah candy without me knowing it.  Every night he had a pocket full of melted chocolate!  Adyson got a new pocket book that someone made her, and my family got a new picture frame made out of popsicle sticks.  Included was a perfectly drawn portrait of my family…haha.  One day I had a huge dead fish left on my porch!  That act was inspired by the craziest, most insane thing that I have ever experienced!  Here it is:

I was talking about how the odds are not in this generation’s favor when it comes to living for Jesus.  My example was that it was like me in a Mixed Martial Arts fight with one of the staffers named Chip.  Chip is a beast!  He informed me one day that he loved fighting MMA because he enjoyed the pain?  As I am talking about how tough this dude is and how the odds are that he would knock me out, I see him coming up to the window with a huge fish.  He had just speared it with a screw driver taped to a broom handle!!!  He came in and told the story of how he defeated this monster of a fish with his bare hands!  The timing could not have been more perfect.  I just sat down and informed everyone in the room that I was done for the day.  I could not add anything else to the lesson God had just taught!  What a great week.

    • Amanda
    • October 2nd, 2008

    Hi josh!
    I just went online looking for things and pictures of cwr cause I just could not stop thinking about it today. It was in study hall and I was like staring off and I was just remembering all that happened that week. I started laughing when I remembered the fish. Your talks with us at night really moved me and I believe it has made me a stronger Christian. You are impacting lives everywhere and I just wanted you to know how thankful we are. I will always remember that week as one of the best in my life. I cant wait to come back next year! Its such a positive atmosphere where everyone is there for God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

