A Sticky Mess!

I have commented numerous times about the number one question I have been asked along this adventure of church planting.  “Why are you doing this?”  My number one answer is because I know for a fact that this is exactly what God has called me to do.  Many have tried to reason it out and come up with better answers, but that is why we are doing it.  I have been deeply pondering this question over the last few weeks and I want to share more of my convictions for this massive undertaking.  First let me say that I believe strongly in existing churches!  I am thankful for the pioneers that have forged an amazing path for us to follow.  But, I also know that my generation does not appreciate all the history and efforts of the church.  People between the ages of 18-35 are leaving the church at a disturbing pace.  It breaks my heart to sit by and watch as those who grew up in church and those who have never experienced the love of Jesus stumble through life with no direction!  Awestruck is not about changing all that the church can offer.  Awestruck has no intention of straying from what the Bible teaches as truth.  Awestruck is all about bringing the truth in a way that relates to a generation in a livable way.  The church has lost it’s stickiness in a world that is pulling us in all directions.  People want to know what they can believe, trust and risk their life for!  Awestruck plans to expose truth in a way that can be clearly understood and sticks with you.  Awestruck is all about a bunch of confused, hurt, broken, and wondering people doing life together in an attempt to bring clarity, healing and purpose.  Living for Jesus is the greatest adventure anyone could ever take part in.  We are all amazed by His love and forgiveness and we are inviting you to join us.  The message only sticks when we live it out everyday.  Living it everyday is much more doable when we live it together.  That is community.  That is discipleship.  That is hope.  That is Awestruck!!!

  1. July 17th, 2008

Leave a Reply

