Hanging Tough?

So the other morning I am flipping through the channels and something very disturbing forced me to stop on one particular channel.  It was oh so bothersome.  I wanted to look away, but found myself drawn in beyond my control.  It was like when you drive down the highway and everyone slows to see the accident on the other side of the road.  You don’t want to rubber neck, but it is almost impossible to resist.  Something in our human nature makes us want to see the train wreck happening in front of us.  That is how I felt about what I was watching.  I did not want to watch the gruesome event unfolding in front of me, but I could not change the channel.  I even called my wife in so she could partake in the horror.  Right there on the TV were five middle aged men singing about how summertime reminds them of their girl.  Five middle aged men dancing with their shirt unbuttoned in front of wind machines.  Five middle aged men surrounded by attractive 20 somethings walking down the beach and enjoying a back yard cookout.  All the rumors were true: New Kids on the Block were back and they were attempting a reunion!  What were they thinking?  It is apparent that the same genius that brought us the lyrics, “OH, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oooh” is writing their new songs as well.  As if we needed one more sign from above that the end is near, those guys go and bring us one step closer to the rapture!  At least I hope God is coming back soon if this is what we are going to forced to call entertainment.  

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

