The Hardest Part….

is getting to know yourself and making yourself vulnerable in front of a room of “acquaintances”.  People who don’t seem to have any weaknesses?  It is not easy to admit that I am not “perfect”.  Deep down I know that they don’t expect perfection, but I still hold strong reservations about filleting my innermost doubts to the room.  The fact: It is a necessity to become more aware of who I truly am.  Only as I grow in my awareness of who I am and who I am not will I further myself as a man.  As I grow in my understanding of my strengths and weakness then I can be a better husband, father, friend, mentor and Pastor.  As I sat in that room of Pastors today, I realized that we might have the hardest time admitting our downfalls in life.  Our churches look to us for guidance and leadership.  In the midst of that we forget that the most precious gift we can give them is Honesty.  I must be honest about my struggles and failures.  After all, I am merely a wretch saved by God’s grace.  I am as undeserving as anyone else, but He called me to Pastor a church.  It is in my weakness that He is made strong.  It is in my honesty that the people God has called me to lead will understand that grace and forgiveness are real.  

This is what I have taken away from my first day of Gallup Certification for Strengths Coaching.  The odd thing is that we never discussed any of this!  It was an internal struggle all day long as we worked through each exercise.  The more we talked about helping others through their strengths, the more I thought of my own struggles.  I cannot wait to see what God has in store for tomorrow!

    • blasio
    • May 29th, 2008

    It is a blessing the road that the lord is chosen for you. You can help and guide many people at the same time. What would happen if each one of them helped one person?

    People usually post difficult situations in my site looking for smart guidance.
    http://mypeopleskills.wordpress.com/2008/04/27/my-boss-doesnt-want-to-transfer-me/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

