You like to do what?

One of my favorite things to do as a Pastor is weddings.  Not all pastors love it, but I really enjoy every part of it.  I am doing my first official wedding as an official pastor in a few weeks.  I have done many weddings, but none as a lead pastor of my own church.  I love everything from the premarital counseling to the actual ceremony.  I don’t know why.  I usually don’t attend weddings that I am not having a part in.  Weddings are not really my thing, but performing weddings is something I truly enjoy.  There is something about the act of bringing two people together and getting to play a role in preparing them for all the excitement (and frustration, and hard work) that marriage brings.  In my optimistic mind, it is a chance to see a marriage that will last and not be given up on when times get tough.  Not a typical marriage in today’s time, where the couple stops putting forth the effort when it stops being convenient for them.  One of those marriages where the couples grows in love and doesn’t “fall out of love” too easily.  To me, it is a huge honor to be asked to take part in such a special day.  A day that will change both participants lives forever.  

My upcoming wedding will be one of the most special for me since I am very close to both the bride and groom.  They are my friends and partners in the Awestruck journey.  I was humbled in our first session when they were asked “Do you know someone that has a great marriage?” and both of them answered Me and Shannon.  What a high calling to not only be the officiating officer, but also the life mentor for Newly Weds.  If more people would choose to love their spouse and stick by them in all situations like they promised in their vows, I don’t think such a large number of my friends in their 20’s and 30’s would be on their second marriage!  Of all the weddings I have done, I am most looking forward to the Ricketts finally saying “I Do”.  

    • Robin Miles
    • May 23rd, 2008

    Hi Josh!

    Good to know Tyler & Holly are getting married. Give them my best, and tell Tyler I love Layden!!!

    I am excited for all of you – what an awesome adventure you are experiencing.

    Love to Shannon, Micah & Addie too.

    R

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

