Unassembled Pieces of History

It is finished!  Done, complete, over, concluded!  Adyson’s crib now sits in pieces in my living room as I type.  There are no more babies in my house that require the safety of a crib….and I am not taking it well.  Her 2 year birthday party was hard, but this has been a gruesome day for me.  As I loosened each bolt I remembered like it was yesterday my excitement of assembling that crib for Micah almost 5 years ago.  It has held a special place in that same room for a long time, and now it is gone.  I remember putting Micah in it for the first time.  I remember putting Ady in there for the first time.  I remember Micah and Ady both (on separate occasions) using those bars to prop themselves up as they were learning to stand on their own.  I even remember getting in there with them a time or two just for fun.  I remember Micah jumping around wildly and screaming.  Having the time of his life, naked.  That is one sturdy crib.  I vividly remember each morning I went in to pick my kids up to the cry of “Dada”.  I also remember when we were trying to get Micah to sleep there all night and he got so upset he vomited all over the room, from the crib.  It has been a place of rest and play.  A pirate ship, a castle and a wrestling ring.  Now all that is left is the memory, because the big girl bed arrives today and we have no more need for a crib.

I believe my temporary sadness will be short lived when Adyson finally sleeps in her own room.  But for now I am just looking at the unassembled pieces of history and reflecting on how much I love my kids.  It is good to do that sometimes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

