I Give Up!!!

On Thursday afternoon I bought a new printer from Circuit City.  The old printer died after 4 years of faithful service to our family, so it was time to make the investment in a new one.  I bought a wireless Lexmark x6570 so I could sit on the couch and make my prints without ever plugging into the macbook.  There was no measure to my joy when I arrived home due to my love of new technology and just new stuff in general.  However, my joy quickly turned to frustration as I began the installation process.  I did most of what the manuel and disc asked me to do.  It did not work!  I uninstalled everything and tried once more to no avail.  After 3 hours of tinkering, I decided it was time to put it away and try with a fresh approach the next day.  Guess what, after 5 hours of tedious, continuous reading and working, it still would not work!  I went online and downloaded the new drivers and installation, and still had the same problem.  The computer found it, but could not communicate with it.  I finally reached a point of ultimate frustration and said, “I give up!”  I walked away for a little bit and decided to give it one more try.  I uninstalled everything I had been working on and went step by step through the process from the beginning.  I did everything just as I was instructed.  Guess what, it worked!  The problem was me all along.  My own tinkering and configuring was the cause of my hours and hours of pain and trouble.  By trying to do it my way I really messed it up.  I got in my own way, big time.   When we reach the place of giving up in our life is usually the moment God steps in and picks us up.  When we can’t take it anymore is when He can communicate with us the best.  It is at that moment we realize we have gotten in our own way with our own efforts.  God has provided the right downloads and drivers to make everything connect, but we mess with the process.  When we give it up and go back to his simple plan, everything seems to work out!  I have reached this place in my life many times.  I always find God waiting and asking, “Are you ready to do it my way?”  The hard part for me is giving up before I ever begin. 

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

