Barefoot in the Bathroom?

public-bathroom.jpgI was listening to one of my favorite CD’s this morning by Water Deep.  It has been a long time since I have pulled this one out.  I was moved as I pondered on the words of the last song on that CD.  I don’t even know the name of the song, but the first few lines hit me deep in the heart as I drove.  It goes like this:   “In the gas station bathroom by the condom machine, I heard the word of the Lord.  He said take off your shoes this is holy ground too, I came for the rich and the poor.  Beneath the selling of Beers and the shedding of tears, I’ll be on the beam of the remote control.  There’s a whispering voice that the humble ear hears, that says I am still waiting for you to ask to be made whole.” Even in the crudeness of the writing, what an incredible reminder that God is everywhere we go.  We cannot escape His presence and Love.  What a great word that God is all about the hurting, broken and confused people in our world.  It is so easy to forget about people and write them off as hopeless.  We choose to spend our time with people like us.  We choose not to involve ourselves in the “dirt and grime” of people that have “issues”.  We are scared to get our hands dirty and be associated with the ones that need us the most.  God has not forgotten, nor has He ignored anyone!  I was troubled in my spirit to realize that I am guilty of loving the people that are easy to love and choosing to spend time with only those people.  Wow, did God ever wake me up this morning.  I was saddened to remember my trip from church to pick up Adyson on Sunday afternoon.  I drove past the local bar and saw more cars in the parking lot than most churches in town had.  It did not register with me until this morning, but this is a disturbing fact!  We have the answers, the love, the hope, and the peace that each one of those folks are looking for.  It is unfortunate that they don’t know where to turn.  Perhaps it is time that we as Christians wake up and begin living our lives full of the love that Jesus has commanded us to.  When asked what the greatest commandment was, Jesus responded, “Love the Lord with all your heart and soul, and the second is to love your neighbor as yourself.”  We are too guilty of loving ourselves!  Jesus did not die so that we could find salvation and keep it to ourselves.  Church is not a place for saved people to hang out and discuss how good it is to be saved.  We have a mission to share God’s love with everyone in every situation.  Time to wake up, time to get serious about our relationship with Jesus!

  1. Love it man. The church needs to be the church. Just found your blog and look forward to reading often.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

