The “Suite” Life

There are events in our life that we know are going to be over the top, rock your world experiences.  Sometimes we paint a picture in our minds only to be disappointed and let down.  On other occasions, what we perceive and plan to be mundane surprises us with the unexpected splendor.  Last night was one of those moments in my life.  For my dad’s birthday we all went to the Charlotte Bobcats basketball game. All we knew was that he got the tickets from Skipper and Lynn Beck (Beck Imports, part owner of the Bobcats).  We assumed the seats would be good, because Skipper should have some pull around there.  Never in our wildest dreams did we imagine we would be in a Suite!  We entered through a special door and went up the exclusive elevator which led us to the Founders Floor. The Founder’s floor can only be accessed by people with tickets to sit in a suite.  Once in our sweet suite, we were greeted by a gentleman in a full chef’s outfit who had just finished setting up our food.  We had hot dogs, bbq, hot wings, salads, cookies, brownies, popcorn, chips and a fully stocked refrigerator!  Me and my brother were like small children running around a free shopping spree at Toys R Us.  I was, dare I say…Awestruck.  The seats were incredible and the suite was extraordinary.  Mrs. Karen was there to make sure our coke’s stayed full and the food was great. Not your typical stadium food.  I have been to Bobcat’s games before, but I have never experienced it like that.  I don’t know if I could appreciate sitting with the “common” man at a sporting event again….haha.  Thanks to Skipper and Lynn for the hook up.  I hope we get to do it again. 

As we sat in our leather seats drinking our cokes and eating popcorn watching the game, Shannon noticed that the suite beside us did not have free food.  I told her that our food was not free, we just did not have to pay for it.  Get ready for some Jesus talk!  The relationship that God offers us is not free.  The whole eternity in Heaven, Grace and Forgiveness, Blessings and Protection is not Free; but we do not have to pay for it!!!  Ephesians 2:8-9 tells us that it because of God’s grace that we have been saved, not by our own works.  We can be “saved” because Jesus payed the price.  I believe that living life for Jesus is much like going to a Bobcats game in a suite.  You really don’t know what to expect until you experience it.  Once you encounter it you will be blown away by how much He has to offer.  The great news is that all we have to do is show up and collect our ticket.  That is where most people get hung up, they never take the ticket!  They are too busy, too “intelligent”, too consumed in other activities, and too whatever to stop and enjoy all that God wants to bring in to their life.  God is great!  Life without Him is inconceivable to me.  I have been there and done that and I am not going back.  I am falling madly, deeply, passionately in love with Him more everyday, and I am constantly reminded that what He offers me was not free, but I did not have to pay for it!

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

